Honorary Members

Persons who have distinguished themselves by meritorious service in the furtherance of Rotary ideals and are considered friends of Rotary for their permanent support of Rotary’s cause may be elected to honorary membership in this club. The term of such membership shall be as determined by the board. Persons may hold honorary membership in more than one club.

Honorary members shall be exempt from the payment of admission fees and dues, shall have no vote, and shall not be eligible to hold any office in this club. Such members shall not hold classifications, but shall be entitled to attend all meetings and enjoy all the other privileges of this club. No honorary member of this club is entitled to any rights and privileges in any other club, except for the right to visit other clubs without being the guest of a Rotarian.

David G. Bowman, Sr.

David was inducted into the Rotary Club of Sarasota in 1965, served many chairmanships, most notably as chairman of the Scholarship Committee. He served as president in 1980-81, and continued to serve as chair of many committees. He was, for years, a member of, and chairman of, the Sarasota County Hospital Board. Because of his extended Rotary and community service, David was elected to be a Lifetime Honorary Member. His son, David Jr. is continues his Rotary tradition and is an active member of the Rotary Club of Sarasota.

Phillip A. Goddard

Phil is a Lifetime Honorary Member because of his extended and dedicated service to Rotary. Phil joined the DesMoines, IA club in 1967 and the Rotary Club of Sarasota in 1987. He continued to be an active member until illness prevented him from attending meetings or club events.